Request for funding @davidtavarez (Grin++ mobile wallet)

TL;DR

I’m planning to release a mobile version of Grin++ for the next, and maybe the latest, hardfork (around Jan 15 2021), therefore I would like to spend more time and energy on this task, that’s why I’m opening a request for a 3 months funding period. I want to have a fully featured mobile wallet.

Intro

I met Grin at the begining of 2019 and got attached to the idea of a cryptocurrency built to be used as a means of payments. I ended up contributing to Grin++ by completely rewriting the UI codebase at that moment to bring a clean, truly easy to use and multilanguage Desktop Wallet. Now I want to do the same but for Mobile.

I’m a believer of " dogfooding " or " eating your own food " and maybe that’s the main reason why Grin++ is widely accepted since even though I’m a developer, I try to think and see things as a real world user. I want to do the same with the mobile version of Grin++.

What do I want to achieve?

These are some cool features I will try to bring to the mobile app:

• All current Grin++ functionalities: Multiple accounts, Multi-language (12 different idioms) and Coin Control.
  • Address availability checker (as the Desktop version has).
  • Sending and Receiving Grin via Tor, Slatepack and NFC (based on Slatepacks)
  • QR scanning.
  • Backup/Restore seed wallet.
  • and many more…

Also, we’re going to have an ARMv7 binary of the backend that could be used in any other project.

Some FAQs

• Will the wallet be compatible with grin-wallet ?
    • No, but it could be if someone wants to create a wrapper for grin-wallet and fork the project.
  • Will users be able to use a remote node/wallet?
    • In theory and with some work, yes, but I would not recommend this at least the user knows exactly what they are doing.
  • Will this just cover the effort needed for an UI?
    • No.
  • What tool am I using?
    • Xamarin (C#).
  • Did I already started?