Troubleshooting: Grin does not run (Ubuntu bootable USB)

I have created an Ubuntu bootable USB drive, since I run Windows 10 normally. I just wanted to see if I could get a grin node spun up on a bootable USB to test the waters.

Well I followed all the steps in the guide (https://github.com/mimblewimble/docs/wiki/how-to-run-a-grin-node), but when I get to the final step of just running grin, nothing happens.

I’m not really sure where I went wrong, but I am not seeing any Terminal out put after these 2 commands:
echo export ‘PATH=~/grin:$PATH’ >> ~/.bashrc
source ~/.bashrc

The tutorials are a little lacking in that they don’t give you the expected output or response that you should get in Terminal after issuing a command. Nor is there much troubleshooting advice that I can find, which is why I came here. Sorry if someone else has already posted a similar issue.

I’m really excited about GRIN, but I’m a Linux noob. I’m really just clueless about command line and stuff. Plz HALP!

The above two lines are all that you needed to share. Did you install a 32-bit distribution of Ubuntu (ie. desktop-i386) instead of a 64-bit distribution (ie. desktop-amd64) ?

No I was using 64 bit. I have since tried this on a Linux VM, and I had a lot more success. Got a node synced and wallet running. Next step to test out mining.

I think the takeaway from my experience is that Grin maybe doesn’t work with Bootable USB drives? Maybe I did something wrong, but it does make a whole lot more sense to use a Linux VM or dedicated Linux box.

bro, u can go to shop buy a 32gb usb for 15$ max that reads and writes good. shove that in USB 2 up in dat PC there with the live aswell

• install to the 32GB and when install is finished and you have restarted and removed the live boot and set ur boot priority in bios
  • then u can build the grin wallet using the first half of this guide here - >>Grin v1.0 Step by Step Miner Guide on Ubuntu [English version]