Request for funding @gene (Adaptor signature atomic swaps GRN-BTC)

Who am I

My name is Gene Ferneau, and I’m a developer and cryptographic engineer. My focus is on privacy-enhancing technologies and cryptocurrencies.

I have been following Grin for a while, and want to become more involved with the project’s development.

What is the project

This project aims to create a no_std library for performing adaptor signature atomic swaps between Grin and Bitcoin.

Atomic swaps are a great way for the decentralized exchange of cryptocurrencies. They remove the need for arbitrage and custodial exchanges.

Recently, Aumayr et al. authored the paper “Generalized Bitcoin-Compatible Channels” which formalizes earlier work on adaptor signatures, introduced by Poelstra for use in scriptless scripts. The main focus of Aumayr’s paper is on generalized payment channels with application to Payment Channel Networks, like Bitcoin’s Lightning Network. Essentially, instead of Hash Time Lock Contracts, adaptor signatures are used to construct the contracts neccesary for payment channels.

Partial signatures are made on channel creation, revoke/punishment, state update, and closure contracts. If either party “adapts” the partial signatures into full signatures, the “witness” (private key) for the full signature is revealed to the other party. By revealing the secret, if either party breaks the contracts,
the other party is able to punish, or force close the contracts. The witnesses are also used by both parties in the update and “peaceful” closure of payment channels.

Codifying the rules with adaptor signatures allows for secure and private construction of payment channels. Removing the need for HTLCs also enhances privacy of on-chain transactions, since adaptor signatures are indistinguishable from normal signatures to outside observers.