Questions about the State of the Atomic Swap PR and Introduction

Hello! I will introduce myself a little as requested here: Grin-Substack

I am an independent software developer currently focusing on cryptocurrency although I started with stuff like 3D graphics programming with Vulkan API. I consider myself relatively proficient in the following languages: C, C++, Rust, JavaScript, Python. I want to create products that will allow people to on-ramp to more decentralized projects, such as grin, as there is a lot of money trapped in centralized captured coins. The idea of having atomic swaps while using the MimbleWimble protocol really fascinated me to the point where I spent several nights studying and taking notes the documentation. The combination of trust-less, decentralized, and anonymous makes it a perfect medium for helping people escape centralized intermediaries.

I have a good mental grasp on the version of the atomic swap on the grin docs page, however as I have read this is a bad version of it since it requires the person on BTC to initiate and also requires 2 transactions. That being said I also noticed that the conversation about the “to-be-reviewed” atomic swap by gene seems to be left off with Tromp telling him that a re-write should be considered: Atomic Swaps by GeneFerneau · Pull Request #83 · mimblewimble/grin-rfcs · GitHub and this was last discussed in 2021.

Since this is the current situation, I am wondering if there is an implementation of the “bad” atomic swap that is verifiable? I understand why it is bad, but I think in order to make progress here it might be necessary to start with the most unoptimized approach. If there is no implementation of the “bad” version I find it unlikely that we would achieve the most optimal approach on the first try. Not to mention the “bad” version has really well documented steps while this current PR does not.