New to GRIN mining

Hi. I am new to GRIN mining and I have a pretty good understanding on it. I want to get to know GRIN a bit more before I actually invest in the currency itself and mining it.
I just want to confirm two things:
#1 1G = 1H. So 1GP/S is 1H/S?
#2 There are two versions of GRIN. GRIN 29 (outdated), and GRIN 31+ (ASIC GRIN, and newer)

Any advice or help would be great!
Thanks so much in advance

Its just graphs per second, you can internally call it whatever you want, a scrypt hash is also not comparable to a sha256 hash, they do different things. Dunno if that’s what you meant…

regarding grin 29 and grin 31+, grin works with two different mining algos under the hood, one GPU (and CPU) friendly (cuckarood) and one ASIC friendly (chuckatoo), the network (if everyone agrees) hardforks to prevent ASICs on the GPU friendly algo for distribution reasons (i guess) and transitions to a ASIC only network. It is supposed to happen within ~two years if i remember correctly, with a shift to favoring issuance with the c31+ algo every week a few %.
@tromp knows it all :slight_smile: i’m just a noob myself in the grin world

1 Like

Thanks for the info! I was just confused. I found an ASIC from a supplier in South Korea and it says it mines Cuckatoo31+ but I can only see mining pools for Cuckatoo31. So 31 and 31+ is the same thing?

No, afaik C31 and C32 differ (memory requirements) and there is a transition from c31 to c32 over the course of one year. Dunno if c33, c34,… is a thing :confused:

Cuckatoo31+ is a a choice of Cuckatoo31 or Cuckatoo32 or … or Cuckatoo64.
An ASIC will only be able to handle a few of these, so it’s best to specify which ones. InnoSilicon’s ASICs support Cuckatoo31 and Cuckatoo32. Nothing beyond.

No; one graph is not one hash.
The 1H unit was developed for the Hashcash proof-of-work, where you repeatedly compute some hash, and check if it’s below a target.