Mining for extreme newbies

Dear all,

I was reading the new Grin mining manual which is great. However, when trying to execute the step by step approach i didn’t even got further than downloading the Grin++ wallet. However, when trying to open the file i’m completely blocked. Not only by windows firewall but also by my Norton Antivirus scanner. It’s a bit frustration since i don’t see an option to add an exclusion even. Look guys & girls, i’m completely new to the mining concept but i do own grin for couple of years now but i thought it would be easier (even though the manual looks nice). Anyone has advice? Thanks! Kr

I have installed my Grin++1.2.6 wallet. Next step is to install the mining software. I tried to install Gminer & followed all steps. However, when executing the “Grin-pool” from Grin.2Miners.com i receive the following error:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>miner.exe --algo grin29 --server grin.2miners.com --port 3030 --user [MY WALLET ADDRESS & RIG Name]
‘miner.exe’ is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

I tried everything I could find trying to resolve this specific error but doesn’'t work. Anyone able to advise with clear specific steps or who had the same issue? Thanks!

Kind regards,
Wout

You’d need to specify the correct path to miner.exe

Second, you’d need to specify --algo grin32 instead, as Grin no longer uses the secondary Cuckaroo*29 PoW.

Last, you’d want to check that GMiner still supports Cuckatoo32 in their miner.

1 Like

Dear Tromp. Really appreciate your supportive answer. Would it be better to use another miner instead? I’m not a programmer neither have I a background in IT so any clear guidelines with a step by step approoach or resolutions for errors are extremely helpful. Thanks again!

I don’t know as I’m not in the habit of mining. I do understand that the choice for competitive miners is limited to GMiner, NBMiner, and lolMiner.

1 Like

i want to start mining, so any suggestion for me