How to run a GRIN mining pool

Hi All,

I’m trying to run a grin mining pool on my physical server. I installed fresh debian 9.4 and kubernetes (as seems to be required) and docker. I’ve basically followed this guide: https://kubernetes.io/docs/setup/independent/create-cluster-kubeadm/ - and went with flannel.

After that, I tried following this guide - https://github.com/grin-pool/grin-pool/blob/master/ansible/roles/pool/files/README.md - I skipped google could (as I have a physical server), and started doing “kubectl create -f …”

Going by the order outlined in the guide, many of the pods failed. I tried to “kubectl create -f” other .yaml files in the grin-pool/ansible/roles/pool/files/ directory, but that didn’t work as well.

Can someone please help me with getting the pool to run? Any help is greatly appreciated as this is my first time experience with kubernetes, docker, and similar. I have experience in openVZ, basic linux administration, nginx, mysql, Laravel (10+ years as a PHP developer) and other frontend technologies, unfortunately I’m not familiar with technologies used in grin-pool, but would like to run it to support the network and miners (so far testnet of course).

Can anyone please help, and we can then get a detailed guide together on how to run the pool on baremetal debian9 server?

Thank you in advance,
kbs1

1 Like

The kubernetes grinpool repo has a lot of errors and is not a turn key pool software. Hopefully there will be a release of an open source repo for easier deployment of pools to help decentralize the network and create as many pools as possible from the start.