Request for funding @i1skn (Ironbelly wallet)

TL;DR

My name is Ivan Sorokin (https://i1skn.dev/). I’m a Software Engineer and the author of Ironbelly – an open-source mobile wallet for Grin (https://ironbelly.app/). In order to dedicate more energy to improving the project, I’d like to request funding for a period of 4 months (September to December 2020) at €4k/month.

Preface

I first got involved with Grin in spring 2018, when I began learning Rust in order to contribute to Grin’s codebase. I quickly found that Grin lacked a mobile wallet, and this made me want to build one for both myself and the community. I decided to build on top of the original Grin codebase, because I could reuse already implemented crypto-related logic.

Around the same time, I also started speaking about Grin at multiple events (https://i1skn.dev/talks/) and co-organizing Grin meetups in Berlin. This led me to co-establish Berlin’s first ever Grin conference – Grincon0 – which was completely free and open for everyone. I presented Ironbelly (the name I eventually gave to my project) at this conference in Nov 2018, and it was the first mobile wallet for Grin that stored private keys on a device.

Now, Ironbelly is available on both iOS and Android with 3.6k+ installs. It’s been a long journey for me so far, but I would like to keep it going. This is where I’m asking for your help.

(If you’re interested, you can learn more about Ironbelly by watching my talk at Grincon1 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCnIVctRLgk.)

Why am I asking for funding?

Initially, my motivation to build Ironbelly was fueled by my passion for Grin and the belief that users needed a mobile wallet. But soon after I released the first beta version of the app on iOS, the work became more routine and I struggled to keep up the same pace of development. Nevertheless, I still wanted to add some more features as well as release an Android version of the app, so I began to look for solutions.