A new grin explorer

I’ve created a simple explorer which is currently available at http://107.175.127.117. Since i’m not a devops guy I hope someone else can host it somewhere. I’m hosting it now so that people who are testing stuff can use it.

Functionality:

• block-list + block-detail
  • search (click on ? icon to find out how to use it)
  • it should display reorgs of length more than 1 and allow following the reorged blocks to see what happened
  • price → for testnet it shows 0, for mainnet it shows the current tradeogre price
  • graphs → currently there’s only one graph showing relation between inputs/outputs/kernels per day
  • testnet explorer is synced on non-archive node and thus lacks early blocks while mainnet explorer is synced on archive node

Disclaimer: I’m not a designer so the page design is not top notch. I’ve made some assumption on what the node sends me when a reorg happens and if this assumption is wrong, then explorer might not report them correctly. The explorer is currently importing older blocks from the mainnet. At the time of writing, it imported around 20% of latest blocks and is expected to reach the genesis block in around 35 hours. I’m also sure that there are bugs :slight_smile:

I’ll release the code for it in the following weeks so that anyone can set one up locally and explain a bit more how one can run it.
In the end I would like to thank @hendi from whom I’ve copied a lot of the models, @xiaojay for his python api work which I’ve used, @yeastplume for adding new api that I needed and @davidtavarez for making grin++ api the same as grin-rust (still in progress).

25 Likes

Love how the block looks especially a block with many inputs and outputs like this one. Thanks for putting in your free time to build this. It’s great having you around.

7 Likes

This is great, is there code on github that we can use to deploy our own or is it more complicated than that

2 Likes