Community Council Candidacy: Trinitron

I am submitting this post as my candidacy for the grin community council:

I am just an enthusiastic grin user.

I discovered mimblewimble on reddit and was excited to see novel development on a plain and simple cryptocurrency coin concept, without a convoluted “utility” or “smart contracts”.

I watched Andrew Poelstra’s talk on youtube and he mentioned that someone was working on a standalone chain based on mimblewimble. Some time after that, I found the grin forum had been created.

I was excited for mimblewimble, but I was thrilled to discover that this creator designed grin with a constant block reward. This to me is grin’s ultimate innovation and single most important property.

My background is in IT but in systems administration not software development so I don’t have a lot of technical input to give to grin. I try to keep my nodes running well for the network.

As far as my stance on issues, if you have been around in recent years you will know, I am a grin conservative. I would have almost believed in the original intention of pure base layer development with all transaction building methods left up to volunteer community, but http sending was a poor solution and I was very glad when I found slatepacks had been added. I would point to the tradeogre slatepacks deposit and withdrawal functionality as the best integration grin has ever seen. I believe we should celebrate and build on slatepacks rather than developing transport mechanisms like tor, bbs, or nostr.