TX Graph Confidentiality

Hi. Just read this article about Grin: MimbleWimble: The Good and The Bad - Token Daily, but I’m confused because it says:
“When MW transactions are published to the unconfirmed TX pool, the TX inputs and outputs are still visible… it is possible and probably easy for anyone to keep a recording of all the transactions from the unconfirmed transaction pool. This data could be used to build detailed transaction graphs of the network.”
From my recollection of reading the Grin docs and watching the crypto presentations by Andrew Poelestra this statement is incorrect, but I’m not an expert so I thought it would be better to just come here to ask you guys. Is it possible for someone to log data on the network and reconstruct the tx graph? Thanks :slight_smile:

Yes, it is possible to learn the transaction graphs, by just listening to new transactions that are broadcasted over the network. However this is somewhat mitigated by the implementation of the Dandelion protocol, where transactions are aggregated during the stem phase before they are broadcasted to the whole network (fluff phase). Exactly how much aggregation we can expect is hard to say right now, and is also dependent on a lot of variables, such as the number of nodes, tx/sec and some of the timers.
In addition, I expect that some companies will offer transaction aggregation services, which will guarantee a level of aggregation before network wide publish.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply!

So then if I understand you correctly… someone could log the entire tx graph, but it would be of little relevance because:

• inputs and outputs are only used once and then cut through (rather than tied to an account like Ethereum)
  • tx are propagated through the network via Dandelion making it ~ impossible to tell where they originated while also preserving IP anonymity
  • Schnorr signatures are used to create Confidential Transactions that make it impossible to tell how much was spent