Sad (+15char.....)

I registered on the forum on January 25, 2019.

Since that day, I have read many good and not-so-good things.

Grin is one of the simplest and most legitimate cryptocurrencies I know. What it lacks are the tools to utilize it.

Wallet It took until 2024 (thanks to @ardocrat) to finally have a complete and finished wallet with all the options one could dream of. Was there an official post on the Grin forum to highlight it? It seems to me there wasn’t. I sincerely hope the Council gave some sats (from the 50 BTC offered by “Satoshi?”) to @ardocrat for his excellent work?

Grin Node Ok, I am not an engineer, but since 2016, I have installed several nodes and masternodes with varying degrees of difficulty, but in the end, almost all of them worked. For the Grin node setup, I flashed my SD card at least 25 times, and each time there was a problem or an error. As a result, I abandoned the method and will install Android on an RPI and use @ardocrat’s application.

I understand that the Council does not want to advertise for Grin, but at least give us finished and functional tools, please.

Bitcoin had the luck of being the first. If it were born today, drowned in over 10,000 cryptocurrencies, it’s really not sure if it would have the same success.

Thank you and best regards,

8 Likes

Running software with heavy r/w cycles like a node off of an SD card is gonna eat any non-industrial SD card very quickly. You’d be better served by just buying a $15 Walmart smartphone to use as a wallet with Grim.

Or since you have the rpi download the tar.gz archive from the github releases page to raspbian and enter 2 commands on the CLI from your home directory:

FIRST
tar xf grin-v5.3.2-linux-x86_64.tar.gz

SECOND
~/grin/grin

DONE!
(optionally you can run ‘sudo install ~/grin/grin /usr local/bin’ to enable simply launching the node by typing just the word grin from any directory in your terminal or console)