Contribute to Grin codebase

Dear Grin community

I’ve only posted an idea or two on the forum previously, but I’ve been following Grin for a long time. I am really enthusiastic about the project and view it as the reference implementation of MimbleWimble.

I’ve witnessed the frustration in the forums and on keybase, and although I think this kind of heated debates is a sign of a thriving democracy and absolutely necessary, I am more and more driven to try and contribute.

From what I can gather there is a need for programmers, which I am. I have about 10 years experience, and I am comfortable coding in Rust. I have been following cryptocurrencies for several years and I am quite read up on the higher level ideas, but I have to admit that this would be my first professional contribution to a cryptocurrency project. That said, I wanted to ask for some thoughts on what projects you would consider lower hanging fruits at the moment, in that their ideas have been explored for a while, and that they would contribute the most to the project.

Personally the only one concrete task that I find lacking at the moment is the ability to easily run the Grin node through a SOCKS5 proxy, but I think I read in a post recently that somebody else was going to work on it. I am also quite interested in the Lightning Network, so I would find it interesting to for example investigate the possibility to use one of the existing LN nodes with Grin, however this task would in my view require a pretty substantial effort and I’m not sure if it would be the most pressing matter for Grin at the moment. I’ve had a look at the post 5 wish list Planning: Post 5.0.0 wish list · Issue #385 · mimblewimble/grin-pm · GitHub, but any additional suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

With the replies to this I might write a funding request if I feel comfortable that I would be able to contribute within a reasonable amount of onboarding into the actual codebase.

Thanks for reading

11 Likes