Anonymity / Mix-nets etc

So I understand, superficially at least, that Dandelion will bring with it significant privacy improvements. I am curious if it is sufficient against a global passive adversary however, and if there are thoughts within this community about using mix-nets to further conceal valuable metadata on the network?

For example, Monero will soon be using an C++ port of I2P called Kovri.

awesome, Monero seems to have an aweful lot going for it. As far as I’m aware, grin is meant to be a simple implementation, nothing fancy. who knows what the future holds. Kovri seems like a really wise move, especially if you want to protect a group of satoshi nakamotos and a group of voldemorts. Makes me think that when gold hits $60k and bitcoin $20k(again) that really the safest option is just to memorize a wallet and use Monero, providing you actually have some worth anything. I’m not an expert however I really like how grin will cut down on blockchain size and help future virtual coin make progress in this area. There’s also bs about making it quantum safe. Oh and yeah, it’s got a little bit of privacy built in. It all moves so fast, I haven’t got a single blockchain address thats worth anything, my only hope is to mine gringots the rest of my life. On one graphics card. :disappointed_relieved: Voldemorts winning…

It’s hard to say what is sufficient against such adversaries, but that’s the type of widespread anonimity attack that Dandelion designed to protect against. It’s worth mentioning that protocols like Tor or I2P just protect your own node, and others not using either can undermine your anonimity. In the case of Dandelion, usage of the protocol also helps others’ anonimity.

1 Like

I have been thinking about it, but no one answered my question on reddit.