Mimblewimble Non-Interactive Transactions

I’m new to Grin and am very excited about the technology. I noticed that transaction are interactive and decided to take a cut at making them non-interactive. (I’m not judging the merits of either way but I’m new here and may have missed some discussions, so bear with me.)

Assume Alice wants to pay Bob but Bob is not online. Alice has a public key, A, and Bob has well known public key, B, available to Alice. I’ll develop the method following these steps:

• To preserve Bob’s anonymity, Alice generates a “Sender Generated Ephemeral Receive Key” for Bob, C, for the purposes of this transaction

• Alice generates a “Sender Generated Blinding Factor” for Bob, X, for this transaction

• Alice generates a “Sender Generated Signature” on the transaction sum that proves that the coin values sum to zero

Sender Generated Ephemeral Receive Key

If Alice wants to use a public key from Bob but only has access to well-known Bob public keys, then Alice may want to generate a brand new key-pair that is untraceable to Bob but has the property that only Bob can create the private key. Alice can then use the public side of this new anonymous key for the rest of the protocol.

This is how it’s done. Alice has a private key, a, with public key A = aG. (Where G is the basis point in the ECC system). Let Bob have a well-known public key B known to Alice.

The sender, Alice, generates the public side of a new key pair for Bob as follows:

q = Hash(m,aB)		where B is Bobs public key and m is unique to this transaction
		                        Note q is now a shared secret between Alice and Bob

C = qB				C is Bob’s ephemeral public key. Alice can use this now.

Note that later Alice can send A and m to Bob, and Bob is the only one able to generate the private part of the new key-pair as follows:

q = Hash(m,bA)		Note that b is Bob’s private key and bA = aB,
                                            allowing Bob to create the shared secret